Howe Defeats Niederhoffer To Take Intercollegiates

Yale senior Ralph Howe won his second straight intercollegiate squash title yesterday, defeating Vic Niederhoffer 3-0 at the West Point championships. Yale also took the team title, scoring 18 points to Harvard's 14 in the four-man competition.

In the quarter-finals, Niederhoffer defeated Dave O'Laughlin of Pittsburgh 3-1 (13-15, 15-13, 17-14, 15-11); he shut out last year's runner-up, Bob Hetherington of Yale, in the semi-finals (18-16, 15-12, 15-12). Hetherington had beaten Penn's Maurice Heckscher 3-2 in the quarters.

In his finals match against Niederhoffer, Howe was always ahead in points and played better than he did while beating Niederhoffer 3-2 in the Yale match Wednesday. Howe will now be ranked third in the country and Niederhoffer fourth or fifth.

The Crimson's Paul Sullivan and Terry Robinson both lost in the third round competition Saturday. Sullivan was defeated 3-1 (15-11, 8-15, 15-1, 15-8) by Tom Poor of Amherst, and Robinson lost to Maurice Heckscher 3-2 (8-15, 18-16, 12-15, 15-5, 15-11).

Squash enthusiasts will have a chance tomorrow to see two of the country's top players, as a team from the Harvard Club led by Ben Heckscher '57--the national singles champ--meets the College's "Red team" led by Niederhoffer, in the finals of the Massachusetts Squash Racquets Association league at 5:15 p.m. in Hemenway.


Also on the Red team are Bill Morris, Doug Walter, John Thorndike, and Allen Terrell all varsity players.