Alumni Choose Five Overseers To Fill Posts

Five new members of the Board of Overseers, one of the University's two governing bodies, took office June 5, Commencement Day. They are:

* Joan T. Bok '51, vice chairman and director of New England Electric System, of Boston, Mass.;

* George C. Dillon '43, chairman of the board of Butler Manufacturing Company, of Kansas City, Mo.;

* Maurice T. Obregon '43, rector (president) of the University of the Andes, of Bogota, Colombia;

* Richard S. Ross, dean of the School of Medicine and professor of medicine at Johns Hopkins University, of Baltimore, Md.; and


* An Wang, president and chairman of the board of Wang Laboratories, of Tewksbury, Mass.

More than 30,000 alumni elected the new overseers in balloting by mail. The five will serve for six years. They replace John Usher Monro '34, Mary E. Procter '63, Elliot L. Richardson '51 and Lloyd H. Smith, who completed their terms this year. Andrew Heiskell, whose term also expired this year, became a Fellow of Harvard College last October.

The 30 Overseers review the actions of the University's other governing board, the Corporation, and of the Faculty.

Recommended Articles