Gicewicz Named Gridder Captain; Gajewski Captures MVP Award

Middle guard Greg Gicewicz has been named Harvard's 116th football captain, coaches announced last night at the team's awards banquet at the Harvard Club.

Gicewicz, a North House resident, is the fifth straight defensive player to fill the post. This year's captain, Don Peterson, played defensive end.

Although a senior, Gicewicz has a year of eligibility left.

Gicewicz's big moment this year came in Week 3 against Holy Cross. In the second quarter, Gicewicz intercepted a Jeff Wiley pass and raced 46 yards before being hauled down.

Gicewicz hails from Getzville, N.Y., and is a chemistry/physics major.


The team also announced the recipients of several awards last night.

Tight end Don Gajewski won the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award, given to the team's most valuable player. Gajewski caught 40 passes for 533 yards and four touchdowns. His 40 receptions are the most for a Harvard tight end.

For the second time in a row, Peterson was named the recipient of the Joseph E. Wolf Award, given to the team's outstanding interior lineman. Peterson recorded a Harvard-record 11 sacks this year.

Guard Shawn Sensky captured the Robert F. Kennedy Award, given to team member who works the hardest.

Quarterback David Kuhn won the William Paine LaCroix Trophy, which honors a player's enthusiasm.

Lineman Scott Lutz, a J.V. player, was named the winner of the Henry L. Lamar Award, given to the player who makes "a unique contribution" to the Harvard football program. The award is a gold watch.

Leaders: Tony Hinz finished as the club's top rusher. Hinz ran for 686 yards on 148 carries. Last year, Hinz did slightly better--789 yards on 139 carries. He rushed for 531 yards on 108 carries in the Ivy League this year.

Tom Yohe was the team's top passer, completing 117 of 225 passes for 1677 yards and eight touchdowns. In addition to establishing most major Harvard passing records, Yohe also set the career interception mark with 24. The previous record was 22, established by Eric "Endzone" Crone from 1970-'72.

Jim Smith and Tony Molinari split for the team lead in interceptions with three. Smith had three last year.

Can't Live Without You: Special thanks to Harvard Sports Information Director Frank Cicero and Assistant SIDs Jeff Bradley and Julie Rice for their help throughout the year.

Tomorrow:Final football notebook and stats.

Recommended Articles