Academy Inducts Members

Scanlon, Gates, McNeil, Striker Join Irving Street Elite

Several Harvard professors were inducted yesterday into the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The academy, located on Irving Street in Cambridge, recognizes distinguished individuals for their contributions to the arts and sciences.

Mallory Professor of Pathology Ramzi S. Cotran, Professor of Human Development and Behavior Felton James Earls, Du Bois Professor of the Humanities Henry Louis Gates Jr., Public Service Professor A. Leon Higginbotham Jr., and Watts Professor of Health Care Policy Barbara J. McNeil were all inducted as fellows of the society yesterday.

Also inducted were Professor of Statistics Donald B. Ruben, Alfred Professor of Natural Religion, Moral Philosophy and Civil Polity Thomas M. Scanlon Jr., Stanton Professor of the First Amendment Frederick Schauer, Lane Professor of Philosophy and of the Classics Gisela Striker, and Professor of Anthropology Richard W. Wrangham.

Richard A. Smith '46, a member of the Harvard Corporation, and Arnold S. Hiatt '48, a former Harvard overseer, were also inducted as fellows.


Recommended Articles