CSA Elects Chou, Tsai as Co-Presidents

The Chinese Students Association elected Alex Chou '97 and David J. Tsai '97 as its new co-presidents yesterday.

The two will formally take office at the CSA-sponsored Chinese New Year's Banquet on February 9.

Speaking to about 50 CSA members, Chou and Tsai expressed confidence in the organization's future.

"We really cherish how CSA is growing to be such a big family, bringing together such a diverse group of students," Tsai said.

He described their plans to make the CSA run more smoothly. "We're going to form the organization so that there's no hierarchy," he said. "[We will] eliminate bureaucratic obstacles, maintain fraternity and flexibility--and have lots of fun!"


Chou said he and Tsai will emphasize communication as a top priority. "We will make regular phone calls and e-mails to all the officers," he said.

The organization elected its other officers as well. Michael S. Chang '99 became the Vice-President/Treasurer; Shin Lin '99 was elected Secretary; Linette M. Fung '97 and Harrison W. Lin '99 became Co-Educational/Cultural Committee Chairs; Andrew G.W. Chung '99 and Jen H. Wu '99 were elected Co-Social Committee Chairs; Angela C. Chien '99 and Abigail I. Hing '99 became Co-Publicity Committee Chairs; Shirling Tsai '99 was elected Harvard Foundation Representative; and Wing H. Chan '99 became the Minority Student Alliance Representative.

CSA sponsors cultural events which are open to the Harvard community throughout the year.

The next event is a speech by Professor Lin Yun, the Supreme Leader of Black Sect Tantric Buddhism, on Friday at 5:00 p.m. at the Yenching Lecture Hall at 2 Divinity Avenue.