Undergraduates Celebrate Second Consecutive Virtual Housing Day


Dean of Students Office Discusses Housing Day, Anti-Racism Goals


Renowned Cardiologist and Nobel Peace Prize Winner Bernard Lown Dies at 99


Native American Nonprofit Accuses Harvard of Violating Federal Graves Protection and Repatriation Act


U.S. Reps Assess Biden’s Progress on Immigration at HKS Event

IOP Welcomes Spring Fellows to K-School

Six Politicos, Journalists Come to Instruct

By R. ALAN Leo

The Institute of Politics (IOP) announced its six spring 1997 fellows Monday, a group that includes the national director of Dole-Kemp '96, the former governor of West Virginia and a New York Times political correspondent.

The fellows are Deborah Arnie Arnesen, a former member of the New Hampshire House of representatives and candidate for U.S. Congress; Richard L. Berke, national political correspondent at The New York Times; Gaston Casperton, former governor of West Virginia; Jill Hanson, national political director of Dole-Kemp '96; Robert C. Hayes, former majority whip of the North Carolina House of Representatives; and Lisa McCormack, publications and online communications director for the Republican National Committee.

"This group of fellows brings a broad range of expertise, background and political know-how to the IOP," said IOP Director Philip R. Sharp in a press release Monday.

"They are a tremendous source of first-hand insight into American politics for our students, the IOP and Kennedy School."

The new fellows will spend a semester at the Kennedy School, where they will audit classes and lead a discussion group. The fellows also maintain an open door policy to encourage direct interaction with students.

"I am going to learn everything that you all can teach me," said Hayes, who will lead a discussion group on religion in politics.

Currently, the IOP chooses six fellows each semester. Students and faculty provide input, and the ultimate decision is made by IOP leaders.

Last semester's IOP fellows included: David Wilhelm, former chair of the Democratic National Convention; Mark Merritt, former chief spokesperson of the Republican National Convention; Tom Gallagher, Florida State treasurer; Dorothy Gilliam, former president of the National Association of Black Journalists; Mike Sullivan, former governor of Wyoming; and Eunice E. Groark, former lieutenant governor of Connecticut.

The IOP Fellows Program, founded in 1967, has hosted political luminaries ranging from Vice-President Al Gore'69 to Betty Friedan.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.