Women's Lacrosse Nets Awards

Published by Martin Kessler on April 29, 2010 at 10:10PM

The Harvard women’s lacrosse team was well represented when the Ivy League released its season awards Tuesday afternoon.

Three Crimson players were honored with All-Ivy selections, and freshman Jennifer VanderMeulen was unanimously selected as Ivy League Rookie of the Year.

VanderMeulen also earned a spot on the first-team All-Ivy squad after finishing the regular season as the conference’s leading scorer.

Sophomore midfielder Melanie Baskind concluded a strong rookie season by receiving a spot on the second team, while freshman Micaela Cyr received an honorable mention nod.

Baskind finished second in the Ancient Eight in ground balls per game and third in caused turnovers, while Cyr led Harvard in draw controls.

Last season, only two Crimson players earned All-Ivy selections, with then-sophomore Jess Halpern and then-freshman Tyler Petropulos earning first team and honorable mention, respectively.

Halpern, who missed the 2010 season due to injury, was the last Harvard player to win the conference’s award for the top newcomer back in 2008. Next season, the Crimson will have the luxury of both Halpern and VanderMeulen playing on the field at the same time.