Lacrosse Earns Nine All-Ivy Nods

Published by Emily Rutter on May 05, 2011 at 10:11PM

It has been a good few weeks for Harvard lacrosse.

Both women’s and men’s lacrosse teams earned the third seed in the Ivy League tournament for this weekend, and this week, nine Crimson players were recognized with All-Ivy honors.

The league’s head coaches met to decide who would earn first-, second-, and honorable mention accolades. The men’s team earned four selections, while the women’s squad boasted five picks.

For the men, senior attacker Dean Gibbons and junior midfielder Kevin Vaughan were named to the All-Ivy League first team. Harvard men’s lacrosse hadn’t received first-team All-Ivy nods since 2008.

Gibbons and Vaughan, co-captains of this year’s team, combined for a total of 88 points this season.  Gibbons was named to the first team unanimously by the coaches, and with 3.79 points per contest, he ranks second in the league and seventh in the nation in that category.

For the women, junior midfielder Melanie Baskind and sophomore attacker Jennifer VanderMeulen were selected for the All-Ivy first team. Baskind, who also starts on the women’s soccer team, collected her fifth All-Ivy honor overall and her second for lacrosse. Baskind ranks fourth in the league for ground balls, having tallied 25 goals so far in the season.

VanderMeulen was named first-team All-Ivy for the second year in a row. This season, she led the Ancient Eight in scoring.

Danielle Tetrault and Ellen Gleason were selected for the All-Ivy second-team for their contributions to the Crimson from midfield and defense, respectively.

Three Harvard lacrosse players received honorable mentions this year—junior Jess Halpern for the women and junior Paul Pate and freshman Daniel Eipp for the men.