Killorn and Biega Named First-Team All-Americans

Published by Scott A. Sherman on April 07, 2012 at 10:12PM

Alex Killorn has already begun his professional career, but the collegiate awards for him and junior teammate Danny Biega continue to roll in.

On Friday, the duo received their biggest honor of all when they were chosen as first-team All-Americans by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Killorn, a forward, and Biega, a defenseman, were selected for the first team along with 10 other skaters at the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla.,—the same city in which Killorn hopes one day to skate as a professional after signing a two-year contract with the Tampa Bay Lightning on March 19.

The two Montreal natives are Harvard’s first All-Americans since Noah Welch ’05 was named to the first team and Dov Grumet-Morris ’05 was chosen for the second team in 2004-2005. The last pair of Crimson teammates to earn first team All-American honors in the same season was Steve Martins ’95 and Sean McCann ’94 in the 1994 season.

The Crimson, whose season ended with a loss in the ECAC Championship on March 17, is the only team in the country to land two players on the All-American first team—which was split into east and west squads—this season.

The east team, in addition to Biega and Killorn, also consists of Union goalie Troy Grosenick, Boston College defenseman Brian Dumoulin, Maine forward Spencer Abbott, and Colgate forward Austin Smith. The ECAC led all conferences with four first-team selections.

Being named All-Americans merely added to a slew of awards that Killorn and Biega have received this postseason. Both were also chosen for the New England Division I All-Star team, the ECAC Hockey All-League team, the All-Ivy first team, and the ECAC Hockey All-Tournament squad.

Killorn, who ranked third in the country with 0.68 goals per game (23 total), was twice named ECAC Player of the Week.

Biega, who ranked second in the country among defensemen with 1.03 points per game (35 total), was also the runner-up for ECAC Player of the Year and was named the league’s Best Defensive Defenseman.