Award of Academic Distinctions.

The annual meeting for the award of academic distinctions for the year 1902-1903 will be held in Sanders Theatre on Tuesday evening, December 15, at 8 o'clock. Dean Hurlbut, who will be the presiding officer, will make a brief statement of the purposes of the meeting and Dr. Edward Everett Hale '39, will deliver the principal address. As in former years, the singing will be led by the Appleton Chapel choir.

Seats on the platform will be reserved for members of the Faculty, and those on the floor for scholarship, prize and detur winners, and for former winners of Bowdoin prizes. The first balcony will be reserved for invited guests and members of the University, until 7.55 o'clock, when it will be thrown open to the public. The second balcony will be open to the public throughout.

Deturs will be awarded to men who win positions in the first group and who have never before received a detur. They are books purchased with the income of a fund left by Edward Hopkins, who was born in 1600. The books are bound in red leather and are stamped in gold with the seal of the University.

An announcement will be made of the winners of the scholarships and prizes awarded by competition since the meeting for the award of distinctions last December.