21 National Awards Offered This Year

Entering Freshmen in 17 States May Apply For Scholarships

At least twenty-one National Scholarships, with maximum stipends of $1,000 each, will be offered this year to entering Freshmen from schools in seventeen states in the Middle West, South, and Far West, President Conant announced tonight.

The National Scholarships are prizes to be competed for by all students, whatever their financial circumstances. Stipends are adjusted individually, from a prize of $100 to a maximum of $1,000 for those whose families cannot pay anything for their college education. Students having honor records in their Freshman year will have their scholarships continued for their three upperclass years. Awards are made on the basis of school records, scholarship examinations, and character references.

Applications must be filed at Harvard by March 15 and the winners will be announced in June.

The states in the scholarship area and the number of National Scholarships which have been awarded from those states in the seven years the plan has been in effect are: California, 10; Illinois, 26; Indians, 14; Iowa, 5; Kansas, 2; Kentucky, 5; Louisians, 2; Michigan, 6; Minnesota, 16; Missouri, 10; Nebraska, 4; New Mexico, 8; Ohio, 34; Oregun, 6; Tennessee, 3; Washington, 4; and Wisconsin, 8.