College Kefauver Club Petitions for Charter

The Harvard Kefauver for President Club rolled into high gear last night when its undergraduate supporters elected officers, drafted a statement of support for Kefauver, and made plans for petitioning Associate Dean Watson for a charter.

"We feel that his brilliant chairmanship of the Senate Crime Investigating Committee has overshadowed his domestic liberalism, his staunch support of civil liberties, and his ardent internationalism," their statement read. It further stressed the fact that Kefauver was one of the five Senators who voted against the McCarran Act and that he was past-president of the American Academy of Political and Social Scientists.

The group chose Hugh J. Schwartzberg '53 and John R. Rodman '54 as cochairmen, and Thomas C. Barr '54 as secretary.