Locals Named as Bunting Fellows

Several Boston-area scholars were among 40 women named 1993-94 fellows of the Mary Ingraham Bunting Institute by Radcliffe College last week.

The local winners included Sarah M. Buel, an advocate for victims of domestic abuse; Boston University physics professor Rama Bansi; Massachusetts Institute of Technology historian Robin Kilson and former state represenative Barbara Hildt.

Hildt, who develops anti-violence programs for The Medical Foundation of Boston, thanked Radcliffe President Linda S. Wilson and said she will use her fellowship to complete a project on the "politics of inclusion."

"My fellowship is in public policy, and my project is about the new politics of inclusion," Hildt said yesterday. "In my career, I'm trying to address some of the root causes of violence and trying to introduce programs into the schools."

More than 1,000 women have been appointed fellows during the 32-year history of the program, including novelist Alice Walker and psychologist Carol Gilligan. The Bunting program offers fellowships in subjects from vocal performance to geology to astrophysics.


While the new fellows had a local flavor, others came from around the country and around the world. Leila C. Schneps, a mathematician from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in France and Mary E. K. Dakubu of the University of Ghana are the two international representatives.

Other fellows include: Paula L. Aymer of Tufts University (sociology); Rama Bansil of Boston University (physics); Karol Bennett of The Rivers School of Music (vocal performance); Elizabeth Bussiere of U. Mass. Boston (political science); Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons, an independent artist (visual arts); Helen Harden Chenut of Mount Holyoke College (history) and Susan Circone of Harvard University (geology).

Also, E. Virginia Demos of Beth Israel Hospital (psychology); Denise Dilno, an independent artist, (visual arts); Rosanne DiStefano of New York Institute of Technology (astrophysics); Robin Fleming of Boston College (medieval history); Rose F. Frisch of the School of Public Health (reproductive biology); Beth Ann Goldring of Palestinian Federation of Women's Action Committees (peace studies); Robin Kilson of MIT (history and women's studies); Modupe Labode of Iowa State University (history) and Mary Lassen of the Committee for Boston Public Housing (social policy).

Florence J. Lin of the University of California at Berkeley (applied math); Catherine Magill-Solc of Harvard (molecular embryology); Patricia Cleary Miller of Rockhurst College (poetry); Debra C. Minkoff of Yale University (sociology); Virginia Newes of the Eastman School of Music (musicology); Hanna Papanek of Boston University (nonfiction); Ann Patchett, an independent writer (fiction and non-fiction) and Susan Power of the University of Iowa (fiction).

Also, Constance Royden of Wellesley of College (computational neuroscience); Leslie C. Shaw of the University of Massachusetts at Boston (anthropology and archaeology); Patricia L. Sipe of Smith College (mathematics); Sandra Steingraber of Columbia College, Chicago (poetry and biology) and Ritsuko Taho of the MIT (visual arts).

Susan L. Tananbaum of Bowdoin College (British and Jewish history); Judith Thompson of Children of War, Inc. (peace studies); Amy C. Tishelman of Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School (clinical psychology); Jessica Treadway, an independent writer (fiction); Lisa Vawter of Harvard University (molecular evolution); Maxine Yalovitz-Blankenship, an independent artist (visual arts) and Abby Zanger of Harvard University (French literature).