Residents Demand Answers at Council Meeting on Police Killing of Sayed Faisal


Bob Odenkirk Named Hasty Pudding Man of the Year


Harvard Kennedy School Dean Reverses Course, Will Name Ken Roth Fellow


Ex-Provost, Harvard Corporation Member Will Investigate Stanford President’s Scientific Misconduct Allegations


Harvard Medical School Drops Out of U.S. News Rankings

Zhu To Lead 137th Crimson Guard

By Crimson News Staff, Crimson Staff Writer

Peter F. Zhu '11 will lead the newly-elected 137th Guard of The Harvard Crimson, the paper's outgoing president announced today.

Zhu, a government concentrator from Guilderland, N.Y. and a Cabot House resident, is a news writer and has covered University finances and Allston development.  He will assume the president's post at the beginning of January.

The paper's outgoing editors elected their successors early Friday morning, and the president of the 136th Guard, Maxwell L. Child '10, announced the results to the staff soon after.

"I am tremendously excited for the great steps forward the newest Guard will take," Child said Friday. "They are an amazingly talented and tenacious group of people, and I am confident they will serve as great leaders of the newspaper in the year ahead."

Zhu will be joined on the masthead by the managing editor-elect, Esther I. Yi '11, and the business manager-elect, Julian L. Bouma '11.

The Crimson, founded in 1873, is the only daily newspaper in Cambridge, Mass., and the oldest continuously published daily college newspaper. Its masthead will change appreciably next year, with the creation of The Crimson's two newest boards—blog and video.

The Crimson chooses its leaders through an election process known as "the turkey shoot," in which all outgoing executives are invited to participate.  A successful candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote.

Other newly-elected leaders include:

Lauren D. Kiel '11 and June Q. Wu '11, associate managing editors

Kevin P. Prior '11, associate business manager

Jeffrey W. Feldman '11 and Ryan J. Meehan '11, arts chairs

Michelle L. Quach '11, blog chair

Emma M. Benintende '11 and Daniela L. Nogueira '11, design chairs

Alix M. Olian '11 and Molly M. Strauss '11, editorial chairs

Tomo Lazovich '11 and Kent G. Rakip '11, information technology chairs

Hyung W. Kim '11 and D. Patrick Knoth '11, magazine chairs

Bora Fezga '11 and Halle K. Phillips '11, photography chairs

Max N. Brondfield '11 and Kate D. Leist '11, sports chairs

Sean B. Goller '12, video chair.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.

Student GroupsStudent Publications