Samuels To Lead 140th Crimson Guard

Samuels to serve as President, Robbins as Managing Editor, Creamer as Business Manager

Parul Agarwal

The Crimson staff celebrates the election of Robert S. Samuels '14 in its Newsroom.

Robert S. Samuels '14 will lead the newly elected 140th Guard of The Harvard Crimson, the paper's President announced on Friday.

Samuels, an Applied Mathemathics concentrator from Pasadena, Calif., and a Leverett House resident, currently serves as Sports Chair and covers Harvard football. He will assume the President's post in the beginning of January.

The paper's outgoing editors elected their successors early Friday morning. The President of the 139th Guard and Robert's older brother, E. Benjamin Samuels '13, announced the results to The Crimson's staff soon after.

"The 140th Guard is a fantastic group, and I'm tremendously excited by what they bring to the table," said Ben Samuels, who recused himself from deliberating in The Crimson's presidential election. "I'm confident they will lead The Crimson to new heights."

Robert's election marks the first time that two siblings have been elected President of The Crimson since before World War II.

The Crimson's next Managing Editor will be Rebecca D. Robbins '14, a Crimson news writer who led The Crimson's reporting in the Government 1310 cheating scandal. Andrew F. Creamer '14, a current Crimson Advertising Manager, will head the organization's finances and operations as The Crimson's next Business Manager.

The Crimson, founded in 1873, is the only daily newspaper in Cambridge, Mass., and the oldest continuously published daily college newspaper.

The Crimson chooses its leaders through an election process known as the Turkey Shoot, in which all outgoing executives are invited to participate. A successful candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote.

Joining Samuels, Robbins, and Creamer on the masthead are:

Associate Managing Editors: Hana N. Rouse '14 and Justin C. Worland '14

Associate Business Manager: Frances M. Pak '14

Arts Chairs: Petey E. Menz '15 and Austin Siegemund-Broka '14

Design Chairs: Shane R. Bouchard '14 and Nicole M. Iacopetti '14

Editorial Chairs: Marina N. Bolotnikova '14 and Michael F. Cotter '14

Flyby Chair: Amy L. Weiss-Meyer '15

Magazine Chairs: Leslie B. Arffa '14 and Rebecca F. Elliott '14

Multimedia Chairs: Jessica C. Salley '14 and Steven A. Soto '14

Sports Chairs: Jacob D. H. Feldman '15 and Alexander M. Koenig '14


Recommended Articles