Mass. State Rep. Calls on University VP to Increase Transparency for Allston Multimodal Project


Harvard President Lawrence Bacow Made $1.1 Million in 2020, Financial Disclosures Show


Harvard Executive Vice President Katie Lapp To Step Down


81 Republican Lawmakers File Amicus Brief Supporting SFFA in Harvard Affirmative Action Lawsuit


Duke Senior’s Commencement Speech Appears to Plagiarize 2014 Address by Harvard Student

Kiefer Sutherland Named Hasty Pudding's 2013 Man of the Year

By Laya Anasu and Elizabeth S. Auritt, Crimson Staff Writers

UPDATED: February 5, 2013, at 1:36 a.m.

Emmy Award-winning actor Kiefer Sutherland has been named the recipient of the Hasty Pudding Theatricals 2013 Man of the Year Award.

Sutherland has won numerous awards for his portrayal of Jack Bauer in the Fox television series “24,” including the Golden Globe for Lead Actor in a Drama Series in 2002 and the Emmy Award in 2006 for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series.

“Kiefer is a gifted performer, who has made meaningful contributions to television, film, and theater,” said Hasty Pudding Theatricals’s press and publicity manager Tyler B. Faux ’13.

The president of the the Hasty Pudding Theatricals could not be reached for comment.

Sutherland, born in London, was raised in Canada. Although best known for his role on the action drama “24”—which became the longest-running spy thriller after airing from 2001 to 2010—he has also appeared in the films “A Few Good Men” and “Phone Booth.” He is currently starring in the Fox drama “Touch,” whose second season premiere falls on the same evening as the Man of the Year celebrations later this week.

Sutherland will be honored Friday, Feb. 8 in Farkas Hall by being roasted by Pudding producers Tyler R. Lewis ’14 and Peter M. Riley ’14. He will also be presented with the traditional gold Pudding Pot.

“We’re so excited to roast him and present him with his pudding pot,” Lewis wrote in an email. “I’m counting down the hours.”

After the roast, the Pudding will premiere their 165th production, “There’s Something About Maui.”

Sutherland joins a host of actors who have been named Man of the Year since the award was first presented in 1967, including Jason Segel, Justin Timberlake, James Franco, Robert Downey Jr., Robert Redford, and Bob Hope.

French actress Marion Cotillard was honored as 2013 Woman of the Year on Jan. 31 with a parade through Harvard Square and a roast of her own.

—Staff writer Laya Anasu can be reached at Follow her on Twitter @LayaAnasu.

—Staff writer Elizabeth S. Auritt can be reached at Follow her on Twitter @eauritt.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.

Student GroupsHasty Pudding TheatricalsCelebritiesCollege News