Ryan to Lead The Crimson’s 147th Guard

Aidan F. Ryan '21 President of The Crimson
Aidan F. Ryan '21 has been named the President of the 147th Guard of The Harvard Crimson.

Aidan F. Ryan ’21 will lead the newly elected 147th Guard of The Harvard Crimson, the newspaper’s President announced on Monday.

Ryan, a Social Studies concentrator from Hooksett, N.H., is currently one of two Central Administration reporters. In that capacity, he has covered controversial donations to Harvard and the leadership of University President Lawrence S. Bacow. He also serves as a social media manager for The Crimson, overseeing the paper’s Twitter and Facebook accounts.

He was one of two reporters who worked on an investigation uncovering a hostile work environment in Winthrop House in spring 2019. The day after The Crimson published the piece, the College announced it would not renew Winthrop Faculty Deans Ronald S. Sullivan Jr. and Stephanie R. Robinson. Ryan, who is a Mather House resident, will begin as Crimson President on Jan. 1, 2020.

“The 147th Guard is an incredibly committed, talented, and driven group of leaders who will — with no doubt — continue to carry out The Crimson’s proud mission of covering and informing our readers,” current Crimson President Kristine E. Guillaume ’20 said. “I am excited to see the next President, Managing Editor, and Business Manager take The Crimson to new heights next year.”


Shera S. Avi-Yonah '21 Managing Editor
Shera S. Avi-Yonah '21 has been named the Managing Editor of the 147th Guard of The Harvard Crimson.

News writer and multimedia editor Shera S. Avi-Yonah ’21 will serve as Managing Editor, overseeing the production of The Crimson’s daily newspaper, magazine, arts and sports sections, and blog. Avi-Yonah, a History concentrator and Dunster House resident who hails from Ann Arbor, Mich., currently serves as a College Administration reporter and covers Dean of the College Rakesh Khurana and the administration of Harvard College. She is also an Associate Multimedia Editor, responsible for the photos and videos in each day’s paper.

Avi-Yonah worked alongside Ryan to report on the controversy surrounding Winthrop House and Sullivan. She was also one of two reporters to break the news that famed Economics professor Roland G. Fryer, Jr. faced multiple investigations into allegations of sexual harassment and faced a threatened lawsuit over the course of her reporting.

Emily M. Lu '21 Business Manager
Emily M. Lu '21 has been named the Business Manager of the 147th Guard of The Harvard Crimson.

Next year’s Business Manager will be Emily M. Lu ’21, a Statistics concentrator and resident of Kirkland House from Santa Rosa, Calif. She will take the helm of The Crimson’s finances and operations after serving this year as an Advertising Manager. She also served as one of two summer Business Managers this year.

Founded in 1873, The Crimson is the student newspaper of Harvard University. It is the oldest continuously published daily college newspaper in the United States and the only breakfast-table daily publication of Cambridge, Mass. The paper is proud to provide news and analysis to a wide range of Harvard affiliates, Cambridge residents, and readers across the nation.

The Crimson selects its leaders through an election process called the Turkey Shoot, in which all outgoing members of the masthead are invited to participate. A candidate for a senior leadership position must receive at least 75 percent of the vote to be elected.

Joining Ryan, Avi-Yonah, and Lu on the masthead are:


Alexandra A. Chaidez '21, Associate Managing Editor

Molly C. McCafferty '21, Associate Managing Editor


Jonathan V. Garzon ’21, Associate Business Manager

Andrea M. Lamas-Nino '21, Associate Business Manager


Ari E. Benkler '21, Editorial Chair

Isaac O. Longobardi ’21, Editorial Chair


Iris M. Lewis ’21, Arts Chair

Allison J. Scharmann ’21, Arts Chair


Ariana Chiu ’22, Blog Chair

Sahara W. Kirwan ’21, Blog Chair


Margot E. Shang ’21, Design Chair

Matthew J. Tyler ’22, Design Chair


Andrew W. D. Aoyama ’21, Magazine Chair

Nina H. Pasquini '21, Magazine Chair


Allison G. Lee ’21, Multimedia Chair

Ryan N. Gajarawala ’22, Multimedia Chair


William C. Boggs ’22, Sports Chair

Joseph W. Minatel ’21, Sports Chair


Alexander K. Chin ’21, Technology Chair

William Y. Yao ’21, Technology Chair