Subscribe via RSS
  • Section
  • Type
Graduate School of Design

Harvard Art Medal Honors Architect Gehry’s Innovations in Urban Development

Frank O. Gehry will be the first architect to receive the annual Harvard Arts Medal.


Pham Named Sixth 2016 Rhodes Scholar from Harvard

​Yen H. Pham ’15-’16 has received a 2016 Rhodes Scholarship to study at Oxford, the Rhodes Trust announced on Sunday, bringing the total number of Harvard undergraduates to win the prestigious award this year to six.


Five Harvard Seniors Win Rhodes Scholarship

Five Harvard undergraduates are winners of the 2016 Rhodes Scholarship, up three from last year when two Harvard students won the award.

Jimmy Fallon on Parade

Lampoon Crowns Jimmy Fallon ‘Emperor of Comedy’

The semi-secret Sorrento Square social organization that used to occasionally publish a so-called humor magazine presented Jimmy Fallon with the Elmer Award for Excellence in Humor on Saturday.

Professor wins "genius" grant

Professor wins "genius" grant

Associate professor of sociology and social studies Matthew S. Desmond recently won a MacArthur “Genius” Grant. As an ethnographer and social scientist, he studies the connections between poverty and eviction.

 Nikki Haley Receives Harvard Foundation Honor

South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley Honored for Flag Removal

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley received an award of appreciation for her calls to remove the Confederate flag from the South Carolina state capitol.

W.E.B. Du Bois Medal Ceremony

W.E.B. Du Bois Medal Ceremony

The Hutchins Center for African & African American Research presents Marian W. Edelman with the W.E.B. Du Bois Medal at Sanders Theater on Wednesday afternoon.

W.E.B. Du Bois Medal Ceremony

Nas and Eric Holder Honored With W.E.B. Du Bois Medal

Harvard presents the medals annually to individuals in recognition of extraordinary contributions to African American culture and the “life of the mind.”

Year in Review - Rob Lue

Following Rise in Teaching Awards, Some Question Criteria

In the last 15 years, recipients for the Certificate of Distinction for TFs, TAs, and CAs has increased dramatically, from 350 in the spring of 1999 to 513 in the spring of 2015.

The Ig Nobel Awards

The Ig Nobel Awards

Master of Ceremonies Marc Abrahams, dressed in a suit and a top hat literally topped off with duct tape, announces the winners of the 2015 Ig Nobel Prizes. The extravagant event featured nobel laureates, musical performances, and former prize winners in a crowded Sanders Theatre.

Humanities Division

History Professor Receives National Humanities Medal

Evelyn B. Higginbotham received the 2014 National Humanities Medal for her research in African American history.


To Applause and Admiration, Ginsburg Receives Radcliffe Medal

Joined on the stage by former Stanford Law School dean Kathleen M. Sullivan, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg discussed landmark cases she argued during her career as a litigator.


Junior Faculty Win Abramson Award for Teaching

Associate professors Ruth Bielfeldt and Sarah S. Richardson were awarded the annual Roslyn Abramson Award for excellence in undergraduate teaching.


68 Undergraduates Win Hoopes Prize

The annual grant seeks to award students for “promoting, improving, and enhancing the quality of literary, artistic, musical, scientific, historical, or other academic subject,” according to the Hoopes prize website.

Entrepreneurship Final Project Fair

Two Projects Win Social Entrepreneurship Conference

The course, which is taught by GSE professor Fernando M. Reimers, meets at the Harvard Innovation Lab and seeks to promote sustainable educational innovations.

Special Teams

In Photos: The Game

Crimson-UC Crossfire Debate

The Back of the UC Ballot

Helicopter over Harvard

In Photos: Bomb Threat Shakes the Yard


A.D. Club ‘Strongly’ Opposes Membership Changes