The New Gen Ed Lottery System, Explained


Armed Individuals Sighted in Harvard Square Arraigned


Harvard Students Form Coalition Supporting Slave Photo Lawsuit's Demands


Police Apprehend Armed Man and Woman in Central Square


107 Faculty Called for Review of Tenure Procedures in Letter to Dean Gay

Brewer and Chandler Elected Lowell HoCo Chairs

By Pedro V. Moura, Crimson Staff Writer

Lowellians voted the old-fashioned way for their new House Committee (HoCo) leadership last night in the Junior Common Room.

After hearing candidate speeches, students voted on paper ballots for ten positions, ranging from co-chairs to alumni representative. Jonathan V. Brewer ’07 and Julia M. Chandler ’07 were elected as the new co-chairs.

“Lowell House is a tremendously vibrant community and I look forward to doing my part to make it even better,” Brewer wrote in an e-mail.

“The turnout was good,” said outgoing co-chair Kaartiga Sivenasan ’06, who added that 174 people voted for the co-chair position.

Outgoing co-chair, Neil K. Mehta ‘06, said that paper ballots gave the elections a “community feel.”

In a runoff election, Patrick G. Mauro II ’07 won the treasurer position.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.