Russell Wins Women's Leadership Award

DeBlosi, Lee named runners up for prestigious prize

In its second year, the College's Women's Leadership Award again attracted a large and talented pool of applicants. From the many, Sarah L. Russell '99 emerged as this year's winner.

Russell, co-captain of the women's varsity basketball team, founded and chairs the Harvard Student Athlete Partnership, the first community service program for varsity athletes. She also chairs the Harvard and Radcliffe Foundation for Women's Athletics, a committee that works to improve resources available to women athletes.

An Afro-American studies concentrator from St. Paul, Minnesota., Russell also coached an undefeated team of 12-year-old girls in the Cambridge YMCA basketball league for two years.

"She's a great person--she's wonderfully spirited, dedicated and personable," said Karen E. Avery '87, assistant dean of the College, who served on the award's selection committee. "It was very competitive and we had some terrific, terrific candidates, but Sarah's application just stood out."

The prize is designated for a female junior or senior who has demonstrated exceptional leadership at Harvard and "contributed toward the advancement of women."


This year, the College also gave two honorable mention awards, which went to Nicole L. DeBlosi '99 and Jennifer 8. Lee '99.

DeBlosi co-chairs the Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, Transgender and Supporters' Alliance (BGLTSA) and is the former chair of girlspot, a women's group dealing with questions of sexual orientation.

"Nikki has worked tirelessly for BGLTSA. This award is perfect for her. She's so smart and dedicated to these issues--I can't imagine a better choice," said Adam A. Sofen '01, DeBlosi's BGLTSA co-chair, who is also a Crimson editor.

Lee served as vice president of The Crimson in 1998.

"They're all impressive women," Avery said.

In addition to the three undergraduates, the College recognized former U.S. Rep. Pat Schroeder (D-Colo.) with the Women's Professional Achievement Award.

The office of the dean of the College and the Women's Leadership Project--an undergraduate organization that seeks to increase the presence of women in positions of leadership on campus--oversee the awards.

The prizes are funded through an endowment funded by Terrie Field Bloom '75.

The recipients will be honored at a dinner and award ceremony on April 6.

Recommended Articles