Progressive Labor Party Organizes Solidarity March With Harvard Yard Encampment


Encampment Protesters Briefly Raise 3 Palestinian Flags Over Harvard Yard


Mayor Wu Cancels Harvard Event After Affinity Groups Withdraw Over Emerson Encampment Police Response


Harvard Yard To Remain Indefinitely Closed Amid Encampment


HUPD Chief Says Harvard Yard Encampment is Peaceful, Defends Students’ Right to Protest

27 Students Declare Candidacy in UC Midterm Election

By Andrew J. Zucker, Crimson Staff Writer

Twenty-seven students have declared candidacy for 12 open seats on the Undergraduate Council in its midterm election, with a delayed Elm Yard deadline after a former representative resigned with short notice.

The election and campaign period will occur between Feb. 1 and Feb. 3. Compared to the previous year, relatively few undergraduates will seek positions on the Council for the upcoming semester—in last year’s midterm election, 35 students ran for seats.

Two Houses—Lowell and Quincy —will have uncontested elections, while competitive races will occur in Adams House, Kirkland House, Cabot House, Currier House, Pforzheimer House, Winthrop House, and Elm Yard.

Elm Yard, comprised of the Grays, Matthews, and Weld freshman dorms, has an open seat after Tingyue Cui ’20 resigned from the UC on Monday, according to UC Vice President Cameron K. Khansarinia ’18. Cui did not respond to requests for comment.

After Cui’s resignation, current Elm Yard representatives Adam E. Harper ’20 and Henry S. Atkins ’20 sent an email to Elm Yard residents with a link directing students to declare their candidacies. UC President Yasmin Z. Sachee ’18 moved the deadline for Elm Yard candidates to accommodate the late notice.

According to UC Election Commission Chair Matthew C. Estes ’18, nine students have declared their candidacy in Elm Yard. Harper said there is a lot of interest in the open freshman seat.

“It sounds like we’re going to have a pretty competitive race, as are most elections for the freshman class,” Harper said.

The following individuals have declared their candidacy for the UC this election:

Adams House

Nicholas P. Heath ’18

Ryan K. Sim ’19

Thomas M. Han ’19

Anna T. Wechsler ’18

Cabot House

Thomas Chatzieleftheriou ’19

Saim Raza ’18

Currier House

Will Long ’18

Anna M. Raheem ’19

Kirkland House

Myles G. Marshall ’19

Sophie Mehta ’19

Mai-Linh Ton ’19

Lowell House

Samarth Gupta ’18

Berkeley Brown ’18

Pforzheimer House

Jeffrey L. Cott Jr. ’18

Osama Arif ’18

Quincy House

Garrett Wen ’18

Winthrop House

Ethan B. Reichsman ’19

Benjamin B. Griswold ’18

Elm Yard

Andie E. Turner ’20

Andrew J. Morley ’20

Noah D. Cominsky ’20

Salma Abdelrahman ’20

Tom L. Osborn ’20

Pierce D. O'Donnell ’20

Jasper Johnston ’20

Jacob J. Klegar ’20

Timothy J. Hazen ’20

—Staff writer Andrew J. Zucker can be reached at Follow him on Twitter @AndrewJZucker.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.

CollegeUndergraduate CouncilStudent GroupsStudent LifeCollege AdministrationCollege Life